#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rebecca Schofield

“If you can see the positive sides of everything, you’ll be able to live a much richer life than others.” – Celestine Chua
~~~~

lausanne_group.jpg
Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!

My name is Rebecca Schofield, and I’m a computer science student at Texas A&M University. I love to study robotics, artificial intelligence, and human-robot interaction. I’m lucky enough to be working on a thesis combining all three of these topics, with applications to the refugee crisis. I’ve had the opportunity to travel abroad for field work, attend a TED conference, manage a few exhibitions, and work at the amazing Lincoln Laboratory.

I have two fun facts, because I couldn’t pick one! First, I have an unhealthy love for Ray Bradbury’s short stories. I own three physical copies of the Martian Chronicles. Second, I procrastinate by baking, and currently run a blog (https://chronicbaking.wordpress.com/) where I get to be creative.
14390941_1067345103361260_7492772146984246513_n.jpg

What # would define your life journey?
Over the couple years I’ve been in school, I’ve had the chance to tutor students younger than myself and work with the university’s ACM-W chapter. I have tons of advice, knowledge, and general observations that I always share!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My statistics teacher in high school suggested that I take a computer science class, because I “have the brain for it”, and the rest is history. She’s always stressed to me to put myself and my well-being first, to allow for some creativity in my life, to remember to sleep enough (people always tell me this…), and finally, to trust myself and my abilities.
11043300_10155280413575403_5181287541693869267_o.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I solve most of my technical challenges with strong black tea and frantic calls to my friends. I had a particularly challenging problem last summer that I was able to solve by utilizing three full-sized whiteboards, and also with more tea.

Ideal Job:
I’m not sure of any specifics in my future yet, beyond graduate school, but I know I want to work for a mission I believe in. I love a research-y feel in a workplace, and definitely want to be in a position to keep learning and working on interesting projects.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Over the couple years I’ve been in school, I’ve had the chance to tutor students younger than myself and work with the university’s ACM-W chapter. I have tons of advice, knowledge, and general observations that I always share!

My most important piece of advice is something that I remind myself of every time I’m presented with a new opportunity. If something scares you, do it. If you’re offered something, or you have a grand idea, it’s easy to dismiss it as too big of a risk. Every single time I’ve consciously remembered this advice and taken it, it’s paid off. And I’ve grown as a person.

Make sure to explore any possible opportunities you can, especially if you’re still in college. You can explore your interests and find amazing things, but you can also learn a lot! Try to really take advantage of things offered to you, or resources available online. And always be open to new things.

Build your network. It is so important to build a great network of people, for internship connections, graduate school advice, or anything they can provide. Make sure to start this as early as you can! I have a good friend that is absolutely amazing at doing this, and it’s made a huge difference in her internship search.
1978708_596557907105184_329062823_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

