inspiration

Women Who Reign: Karishma Patel

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm, and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.” – Jawaharlal Nehru
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi, my name is Karishma! I’m originally from Highlands Ranch, Colorado. I’ve been spoiled with great hiking, great views, and a great football team (go Broncos!), and I couldn’t be more grateful to have grown up in such a beautiful state!

img_1I currently am a junior at Washington & Lee University in Lexington, VA. At W&L, I am studying both Business Administration and Computer Science. Business is something that I always knew that I liked, but my relationship with computer science has definitely been more rocky. I had a love-hate relationship with the subject in high school, but after trying it again in college, I discovered a new appreciation for the field. After I graduate, I’m hoping to work for a company that allows me to explore technology in a business setting!

Fun Fact: This past December, I hiked to Papakōlea Beach in Hawaii, which is one of four green sand beaches in the world (the other three are located in Norway, Guam, and the Galapagos Islands)!

 

What # would define your life journey?
Inspired by a close friend of mine, I’d probably say #enroutetohappiness

Favorite website / app:
I’m a really big fan of Evernote, because it does an awesome job of helping me stay organized!

img_6Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My parents both inspire me every day. I’m always amazed by my dad’s sheer breadth of knowledge, and it motivates me to keep learning more! The generosity that my mom shows on a daily basis has taught me a lot about valuing my family and loved ones. Above all though, I’m so thankful for their continuous support and for teaching me what it means to be driven and hard-working. They have instilled values in me that I will carry through in both my professional and personal life!

Ideal Job:
Over the past couple of years, I’ve gone through a handful of internships that I have enjoyed but are not necessarily what I am looking for in img_4terms of my career goals. This coming summer, I will be interning as a Technology Consultant with PwC in San Jose, CA. There is a chance that I will really enjoy my work, but there also is a chance that I will not. To me, that’s the beauty of combining two very versatile majors (Computer Science and Business). There are an infinite number of paths that I can take and not liking one just means that I’m one step closer to discovering what I am passionate about. I’m still at a stage where I’m learning what I like and dislike, so while I can’t say exactly where I’ll be in 10 years, I can say that my ideal job will be at the intersection of business and technology.

img_3What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be open to adventures and challenges. Take risks, learn as much as you can, and live life to the fullest, because you’ll be much happier when you do. You learn a lot about yourself by stepping outside of your comfort zone, both in your professional and personal life. So hold a jellyfish if that freaks you out and apply for a job that you don’t think you’re going to get! Because in the end you’ll gain a new perspective on life and a new experience to add to your collection…and that can only help you in the future!

img_5

Leave a Reply

