#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Barbara P Gonzalez Rivera

“I am the one thing in life I can control. I am inimitable. I am an original” —Aaron Burr, “Wait For It”

~~~~

Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.
I’m Barbara P. Gonzalez, a third-year Computer Engineering student at the University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez. Currently I’m the president of IEEE Women in Engineering 15385262_10153948505121372_8152800982610449805_ostudent chapter at my university in addition of volunteering as a student counselor for freshmen. I’m also Bilingual, fluent in both English and Spanish. I love to read stories, hike and play video games in my spare time.

What # (hashtag) would define your life journey?
#NothingVenturedNothingGained

Favorite website / app:
I admit that I have short attention span. I do get easily distracted quite easily. And so, to work around this problem of mine and get things done, I use tomato-timer.com. By using the Pomodoro Technique, I work with an assignment that I need to do in intervals of 25 minutes separated by short breaks. So far, it has helped immensely.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Two people that inspire me are my parents.  Both my parents came from humble beginnings; however, they have taught me valuable life lessons that I every day. My father taught me to never depend on one skill only. When presented the opportunity to learn as 13308321_10153411896122504_418307885435284527_omuch as I can, and have a variety of skills that if one area of expertise I can’t succeed, I could try a different path.

Now from my mother, I learned how to be an excellent project manager. She taught me to be aware of small details that could affect my main goal, how to be organized, and inspire others to work towards a common goal.

Song that makes you want to dance:
This took me a while to pick. Honestly, any song makes me want to dance.  But a quick look at Google Play Music says that the three songs with more replays are: “Shatter Me” by Lindsey Stirling, “Young Volcanoes” by Fall Out Boys and “Wait for it” from Hamilton Musical.

14241495_1192263020811998_6277289207477293738_oTechnical and/or life challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One professor at my University asked me to live stream the final presentation of undergraduate students enrolled in Capstone. I had two days to figure it out how to make it possible. I quickly found that YouTube provided a way to live stream videos and learned how to use Xsplit Broadcaster as an encoder for it. The only problem remaining was that I didn’t had camera. After searching my room, trying to see if I could find damaged camera I had to fix and use, I found my old Xbox 360 Kinect. An idea appeared, what if I could use the Kinect for the livestream? I did my research, try a couple of program until I finally made it work as a web cam. It worked perfectly and recorded sound better than my laptop’s microphone.

14732135_10153717844012504_3287103654025759930_n (1)Ideal job / where you see yourself in 10 years:
I see myself working in the industry either working in one of three areas: Networks, Gaming or Web Marketing. But at the same time, I would have to continue my studies to finally get my master’s degree. However, the future is not set on stone so my vision could slightly change.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives
Dare to explore, and accept challenges. You are the only being you can fully control in this life. Do not depend too much on the opinion of others. If you desire to accomplish a goal, absolutely no one can stop you. There will surely be stumbling blocks on the rocky path and people will discourage you, but don’t be afraid, they are part of the extraordinary experience and will help you grow successfully in various areas. Follow the path that makes you happy, and don’t live your life trying to please others because it will accomplish nothing.

 

12471682_10153120326372504_5260829642106754582_o

Leave a Reply

