inspiration

Women Who Reign: Natalie Hahn

“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why”
– Mark Twain  
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am an aerospace engineering student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach, Florida. There, I have led the Society of Women Engineers as both president and past secretary. Currently however, I am a Display Applications Subsystems co-op with Rockwell Collins in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

What # would define your life journey?
#NeverthelessShePersisted

Favorite website / app:
My favorite website would have to be Youtube, in all honesty. Not only is it an amazing resource for learning new information or getting help with a subject, I also know that it’s a great relaxation tool. I love how endless it seems.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
This is more of a two-for-one, but my parents are incredibly inspirational for me. Not only have they worked for years supporting my family, but they have also stood tall during difficult situations and in the face of adversity. They both have been amazing parents to my siblings and I, especially my special needs brother.

Truth be told, while it wasn’t a direct imparting of knowledge, they have shown that having all the facts about a situation and being knowledgeable about said situation is the most important weapon you can have at your disposal.

Song that makes you want to dance:
This answer changes almost on a weekly basis, but lately it’s been a toss-up between Shape of You by Ed Sheeran or September by Earth, Wind, and Fire (my music tastes are ALL over).

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Last year, I got very ill with various ailments and conditions. This occurred during my fall semester at college and was at the point that I had to go to the Mayo Clinic every week. Ultimately, my classes were incredibly affected, as well as other aspects of my life. I overcame the difficulties that came with being seriously ill (as these issues have not lessened) by accepting the love and support my wonderful friends and family gave me.

Ideal Job:
In the next 10 years, I would love to be working for a major engineering company (like Rockwell, where I am currently) leading a program or even in a managerial position. Hopefully by then I will have made a significant impact with previous programs, and made a difference for my company.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives
You’re going to come across challenges – everyone does. But you can handle it. Don’t make anyone or anything cause you to bow your head in acceptance when you don’t want to. The only reason you should ever look down, or have someone look down upon you, is to admire your shoes.

Leave a Reply

