#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Brittney Hill

“It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but even more to stand up to your friends.”  J.K. Rowling

~~~~

pic3Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
At a young age, I acquired a love for creating. I was gifted my first camera in the 6th-grade and ever since then, I have continued to pursue my love for creating. My interest in film started with just funny music videos I would upload to youtube. Then, when I got to high school, I began to direct short films, entertainment videos and a live news show every morning for about two years. This is really where my love for film flourished, and film is something I continue to do as a hobby. Along with film I also play music. I’ve played the violin for about 6 years and I recently taught myself how to play the ukulele. If I had one word to describe myself it would be dynamic because I love trying new things and I have a variety of interest!

pic1What # would define your life journey?
#adventure because I’m always down for a new experience. My desire for adventure is what originally got me into computer science. Before I was accepted into Girls Who Code I had no knowledge about coding at all. I took a risk when I  decided to live in another state for two months and learn about a world I had no familiarity with. The risk is exactly why I went! I believe the best things in life come with risk, so I’ve grown to accept risk openly to enjoy the adventure ahead.

Favorite website / app:
Youtube by far! I’ve been an active consumer on Youtube since I was in 6th grade. I don’t watch a ton of movies(which is ironic because I love to film) and I’m only rarely really interested in a show. Youtube has been my t.v.
equivalent for 7 years now! I’ve learned a lot from that site and I’m glad it has been able to benefit me for such a lengthy time.

pic2Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Mark Zuckerberg has inspired me immensely. I had never really taken much notice to him before I got to Facebook. However, when I arrived I was amazed at the way he runs his company. He is a billionaire who still takes the time to answer questions from his employees every week in a company Q & A. Not only that, but I could see diversity in his employees while visiting the headquarters. From girls with sleeves of tattoos and piercings to people in formal work attire, I felt that at Facebook everyone was able to express themselves which is very unlike a lot of other companies. Mark, like myself, is a humanitarian, and a very humble one at that. When I read that he gave 99% of his Facebook shares to improving stem fields I was not shocked but I was definitely impressed. He is not only a selfless man who notices the issues within the stem field but he also has put a large portion of his resources to use in hopes of fixing these problems. I was lucky enough to meet him towards the end of my stay and those moments are some that I will never forget.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Highlights  – Kanye West That album never gets old!

IMG_5508Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Since the end of middle school, I had the same friend group and we had always been close and had the best of times. However, my junior year of high school one of the girls in the group was engaging in activity that would be harmful to her life in the future. We were all close to the girl’s family and I worked with her sister. One day I told her sister about the situation as a concerned friend only to later on that week be backlashed by the whole group for telling her secret. None of my friends in the group wanted to do anything about the activity the girl was engaged in so it left me with a difficult decision. I had to ultimately decide to leave the friend group that I had known for a large portion of my life because the direction they were heading was not the direction I wanted to be. I had to put my future and my academics as top priority. When I think about the situation I wonder how I was able to go about life without being scared that I wouldn’t make new friends. However, I remember how positive I kept my outlook. I knew my future was bright. I remained happy and open to new people and as a result making new friends came easily to me. The people I met my senior year had real goals for themselves and shared excitement with me when I accomplished mine as friends always should. Now, these friends I made my senior year are still my friends today, and my old friend group is nothing but a memory.

pic7Ideal Job:
In ten years I see myself as a business owner and director. I don’t want to leave the film industry so I know whatever I do in life will have to incorporate my love for film. I’ve thought of a few startup ideas but I am waiting to learn more about the tech industry until I pursue them. Also, I want to have a job where I can freely visit my other interest like cyber security, politics and environmental science.

 

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
In order to achieve your wildest dreams there are two pieces of advice I think are beneficial to know. The first is to take the best risk. Like the quote on my wall states “Everything is a risk, not doing anything is a risk, it is up to you!”. So yeah, it might be easier for you to just stay at home and work all summer like you’ve always done but when you do that you’re risking something else.

Alternatively, you could be in an internship in a field you love, in another country learning something new or teaching yourself to code something you think the world needs. There is so much you can do in this life and a risk is a great first step! The second piece of advice I’d give is to work for what you want. For example, I have people in my computer science class now that chose the major for the money but failed to consider the work they need to do to get there. We take quizzes and these people come unprepared, then they’re upset when they don’t get the grades they want and assume it’s because computer science is not the major for them. CS is a major for everyone and anyone willing to learn not only the textbook stuff and what you need for a test but also what’s going on in the tech world. You have to be willing to research, try, fail, go back, fail, and fail again to get to the success everyone desires. Nothing worth having comes easy.

Leave a Reply

