#WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jamie Liao

Give and don’t expect. Advise, but don’t order. Ask, but never demand.

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m currently a junior at Rutgers University majoring in computer science! I really, really love food (especially froyo and ice cream). My life goal is to make enough money to go and eat good food :’)

I am currently involved with HackRU as the Director of Finance and with USACS as their events coordinator! I also work as a CAVE tutor, 111/112 TA, and a student systems administrator at OSS.

Fun Fact: My two ears are different!

jamieLiao4

What # would define your life journey?
#food4lyfe

Favorite website / app:
I really love to watch various tech channels on YouTube like Mark Rober, Get Smarter Every Day, and LinusTechTips.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I would say that my mom is the one who inspired me the most in working hard. She constantly tells me to “do what you have to do” which gets me off my lazy butt to fulfill my responsibilities in my clubs and jobs. My mom’s philosophy is if you work the hardest you can in a job, club, and/or class, then good things will come to you (which I totally agree!).

Song that makes you want to dance:
All About Us – He Is We (it’s such a cute song that picks me up 🙂 )

jamieliao3

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it: When I was a freshman at Rutgers, I was super shy and scared to meet new people. Because of my fear, I would hole up in my dorm room playing League of Legends all day long (which I didn’t mind doing much). I longed to meet new friends but I was scared and social anxious of meeting new, scary, judge-y people. One day, I got an email from the USACS newsletter about the mentorship meeting! I was interested because I could meet new people who I could become friends with and learn new tech skills. I decided to kick my ass out of my dorm and head over to this meet in a whim. This decision turned out to be amazing because I met Sakib Jalal, my current mentor, who introduced me to the CAVE that snowballed into meeting hundreds of others in the tech community.

jamieliao1

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Do whatever you want to do and keep that goal in mind. I’ve learned to not let others’ opinions bother you and do not try to appease everyone because you will tire yourself out. Keep working hard towards your goal and know there will always be someone supporting you! Also please keep an open line of communication between yourself and those who mutually care about you- friends and family are the best supporters and sources of stress relief.

jamieLiao2

Leave a Reply

