#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · school · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Mey Nakash

“Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try” -John F Kennedy

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I attend a Jewish private school called Kohelet Yeshiva High School, located in Merion Station, PA, and will be turning 17 in May. One of the best decisions I have ever made in my life so far was switching into my school’s AP CSP class. I am the only girl taking the course, this being my first year coding! I have also starred in my school musical twice out of three productions!

What recent accomplishment in CS would you like to share?
I was selected as a 2017 Stanford #include fellow under the She++ organization among a large, national applicant pool.

What’s the next step in advancing your STEM career?
I would like to address issues of unconscious biases by doing more research on the subject and creating training workshops for middle and high schoolers. I also plan to create a platform for these resources to be offered to a wide range of people.

What # would define your life journey?
#nevergiveup

Favorite website / app:
My favorite website is Khan Academy. I also cannot live without messenger.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Over the past few days, I have met such a successful and brilliant group of girls (and two boys, lol). All 30 #include fellows have inspired me by teaching me that the sky is truly the limit.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Something Just Like This” by the Chainsmokers & Coldplay

IMG_2670

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Early this year, I did not connect to my science elective. I decided to take a leap of faith and try CS, without any experience in the field. Through this switch, many opportunities were opened to me. I plan to pursue a career in computer science, something that would have never happened if I did not take that first step.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is to take part in improving users’ experiences. Recently, I discovered a major called Symbolic Systems which I’m really interested in pursuing. It incorporates computer science along with philosophy, focusing on problem solving skills. What I like about this concentration is that it can apply to many areas depending on what your focus is such as neurology, artificial intelligence, and computer-human interaction.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Keep pushing. I cannot stress enough how imperative it is to go against the current of what other people think/say. Take me, for example: this is my first year coding. Through hard work, I have shown myself and others that I am capable of designing complicated applications and algorithms. Don’t allow anyone to push you down, and you will eventually rise up. Most importantly, prove them wrong, but also prove yourself right.

Leave a Reply

