inspiration · women who reign · Science · STEM · #WomeninTech · #WomeninSTEM · Technology

Women Who Reign: Malavika Vivek

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer” – Albert Camus

 

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a junior at the Middlesex County Academy for Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Technologies in Edison, NJ.
Fun Fact: I am really passionate about machine learning and cancer research. I am also a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino movies and I love New York City!

What # would define your life journey?
#unstoppable

 

What’s a recent achievement you would like to share?
I was recently awarded the title of Siemens Competition Semifinalist for my research in machine learning and allergy/immunology. This was an amazing experience both from an education perspective and life perspective. Also, I recently had the opportunity to travel to Silicon Valley as part of the #include fellowship where I got to meet some incredible people including 29 other #include fellows. This was an unforgettable opportunity and I am so happy I got to be a part of it.

FullSizeRender (13)

Favorite website / app:
My favorite app is Spotify, it’s my absolute go-to for music. I also love using Quora to read about people and their experiences and I use Wunderlist to keep track of everything I have to do.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Viola Davis is someone I find very inspiring. Though I have never met her personally, I heard her speak recently at the Watermark Conference for Women. Her speech was about her childhood and the adversities she has overcome in her journey to become an actress. The most inspiring thing I got from her though, wasn’t her story, but the way she told it. Here was this powerful woman embracing her adversities and turning them into pure strength. Every obstacle was and is an opportunity to her and that is how I want to live my life.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Tito Crack that Dutch” by Niko Is

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A big challenge I’ve experienced is not being hurt by the inequality that women and minorities experience in the world. Based on the injustices occurring in the world today, as well as my personal experience of often being “the only woman in the room,” I have sometimes struggled to find the strength to fight this. But I know now that my purpose is to fight to bridge the gap and push for a world that is more inclusive. And that is why I do what I do even when it is exhausting or it seems pointless; my mission is to change our society for the better.

 

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Take everything that’s wrong with the world and wrong with your life and use it as your fuel. If it feels like the world is against you, realize that it’s because you are strong. I know people say not to care about what other people think of you but I don’t believe in that. It is incredibly difficult not to care. So if someone says something that hurts you, it’s ok to be hurt. Understand that being hurt or angry is not a weakness, but never allow yourself to wallow in it. Find what you love, find your dream, and know that you are absolutely capable of (and moreover entitled to) conquering the world!

Leave a Reply

