#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Bethany Wiles

“Nevertheless, she persisted.”

 

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I grew up in Kansas City and am currently a sophomore Computer Science major with a minor in Business at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, specifically the Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management. I am a member of Kappa Delta Sorority and am involved in Computing For All, a group focused on improving diversity in the tech world. I’m looking forward to an internship this summer with Intuit.

Fun fact: I grew up riding and showing Morgan horses and hope to continue doing so after I graduate.

17546694_1280227775364183_5876329796128637119_o

What # would define your life journey?
#nonstop

Favorite website / app:
I’m a nerd for genealogy, so I’m a bit of an Ancestry.com addict.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I’ve always looked up to my parents. They both have some serious work ethic. I saw my dad work crazy hours for years and my mom pick up two degrees while working full time. Despite all of this, they always made time for the family and I appreciate the example they set for me.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Don’t Take the Money” by Bleachers. Also all of Hamilton.

 

160315_Raikes_0162
Raises School photo shoot of classroom and residence hall. March 15, 2016. Photo by Craig Chandler / University Communications

 

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’ve dealt with doubting my abilities and intellect for a long long time. My sorority focuses on confidence and improving that in all people, and that has been phenomenal for me. Having confidence in yourself is the first step to achieving more and bettering yourself.

Ideal Job:
Hopefully in some sort of Project Manager role. I really want to be able to teach and mentor younger people pursuing Computer Science in a volunteer setting as well.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I’ve learned how important it is to maintain perspective when things go awry. I’ll let myself have a moment where I can freak out and be upset, but then understand that I need to move on to the next thing because worrying is entirely unproductive. Also, it is far better to ask for help when you need it than waste time trying to do everything on your own.

Leave a Reply

