#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Lauren Wong


“At the beginning of the Night ANYTHING is Possible.”  
quote from Before I Fall

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m currently a senior in high school and I plan on attending CSUF in the fall. I plan on majoring in Communications with a minor in Computer Science. I’ve been a social media intern for The Global Runway where I helped come up with creative captions and ideas for their brand.

I’ve been coding since I was 13 years old – I took an intro to Java course at CPP the summer going into my freshman year of high school. After that course, I became obsessed with programming. I coded for fun on my own and began to dedicate every Sunday to learning more about Computer Science. I work with a private tutor and my two brothers; we’ve created world simulation projects in Java and we’re currently working on a C++ project.

Going into my junior year, I was a participant in the SIP Program with Girls Who Code. They launched a pilot program for advanced coders, and I was chosen to be a participant. During that 4 week program, the rest of the girls and I split up into groups and created final projects. We presented ours projects to VMware executives and we even got to meet Reshma Saujani, the founder of GWC. That was a mind blowing experience. That program allowed me to realize I wanted to pursue a career in STEM and gave me some of my best friends and best memories.

FUN FACT: I love dogs and I have Malti-poo named Lily

dxu-2989

What # would define your life journey?
I think that #glow describes me. I love makeup and love highlighters and I love glowing. I love the way highlighting accentuates your natural features and just emphasizes them. Not just through physical appearance, but through my actions and personality. My goal is to be bright and make those around me happy and to help inspire others to glow and radiate.

Favorite website / app:
Social media – Twitter or Instagram.
Instagram has allowed me to share my favorite memories and experiences through photos. I’ve also been able to connect with brands and other girls who have the same interests as me. I love taking fun photos with my friends.
Twitter allows me to share random and fun thoughts.

Website – Quora.
It’s sort of a social media platform, but reading about other people’s experiences and point of views is fun to me. I’ve learned a lot from Quora.

gwc gwc

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
One of my closest friends, Marisa Umeh. She’s a grade younger than me but I’ve learned so much from her. She never gives up and pursues her dreams which inspire me and show me that if you set your mind to it you really can do anything you want to. We founded a Girls Learn International Community Chapter together, and without her I probably wouldn’t have survived high school.

Snip20170414_17

 

What’s been your most memorable moment?
It wasn’t a BIG event, but at the end of November (right before college apps were due) I was at a concert with a group of my friends. I was seeing one of my favorite producers, Jai Wollf, and two of my best friends were with me. I was super happy and the night was amazing. At the end of the night he played one of his most popular songs and during that song I realized how much I appreciate those around me, that’s when I feel like I really felt like I was glowing, out of pure happiness. I realized that even though I was stressed about college apps and my future, I had to appreciate the now.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Song that makes you want to dance:
ILYSB” or “Pink Skies” by LANY always makes me happy and puts me in a good mood whether I’m with friends or just getting ready in my room

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Being a girl in the tech field has been intimidating. But I think that my biggest ‘struggle’ has been finding something I’m passionate about. When I was younger, I tried out a lot of different activities that I never really stuck to, from dance to taekwondo. But, since I learned about coding/STEM in general – I’ve been hooked. I think it’s because there’s always more to learn, and being able to have an idea and interpret it and show others what my thoughts and my creative process is like motivates me.

Ideal Job:
I want to be a social media coordinator/manager in the future. I love tech and social media, and I want to combine my passion for those two things together. I love how social media allows us to all connect and never feel ‘alone’.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Even though it might sound tacky; don’t give up. Keep on pushing to pursue your dreams. Also, explore your options. Don’t be close minded and try out different activities to find your interests and discover what makes you happy. Don’t be afraid to say no.

Also, code is the future and now. Without code, our world now really wouldn’t exist. Even if you don’t want to be a programmer in the future, you should learn about code and the STEM field. All coding languages are universal, and code is what makes the world go round.

Leave a Reply

