#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Nhu Luong

“Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations” – Melchor Lim

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a first-generation college student from Vietnam that started my new chapter of life in the United States in 2010. Now, I am currently a junior at San Jose State University and follow my passion for technology. I remember my first interest in computers was when I was in 3rd grade. At that time, I really love working with computers and would come into the computer lab every day in playtime to learn more about it. The reason why I chose to major in Computer Science was because the satisfaction that I feel after fixing a computer problem that I created when I was in middle school.

Besides to my academic life, I am a fun-loving introvert who likes to help others. I love the feeling when I feel useful in a team. I love bitter herbal drinks and dark chocolate and computer games are my way of de-stress!

I have always been interested in leadership ever since I was younger. Therefore, I really enjoy attending professional or leadership development workshops to improve myself. I also enjoy helping other women in engineering and inspiring girls to enter the STEM field by serving as a Secretary for the Society of Women Engineers at San Jose State University. It is one of my best experiences in leadership that I really value. I am happy and grateful to be surrounded with like-minded officers and members that are passionate about helping other in engineering.

Nhu_Luong1

What # would define your life journey?
#hardworkalwayswin

 

Favorite website / app:
My favorite app right now is Flipboard because I like reading short news and journals. I love apps that have beautiful user interface and this app definitely exceeds in that aspect.

I also like the website HackerRank because I can challenge myself to solve problems and improve my technical skills!

Nhu_Luong4

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
A person who always inspires me to strive for the better is my brother. He has autism and has difficulty with learning how to speak. Although he is younger than me, his condition taught me a lot of lessons about life. He teaches me that there are unfortunate people out there are not gifted with the ability and an opportunity to go to school and study. Therefore, I should do the best I can if I have a chance to study. He also teaches me that everyone has his or her own story. I should not make an assumption about anybody before listening to their stories. Although he cannot attend a regular school like any other kids, he still smiles and enjoys his life whenever he is around my family. That makes me feel grateful to be living and doing things that I enjoy.

Nhu_Luong3

Song that makes you want to dance:
Ellie Goulding – “Burn”

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A crossroad in my life that defined my path was when I decided to apply to San Jose State University (SJSU). As an immigrant with limited English during senior year, I was skeptical about my ability to do well in universities. Luckily, there were family members and friends that highly encouraged me to give it a try instead of being afraid of failing. I never regret doing all those extra work to go to SJSU at all. Located in the heart of Silicon Valley, this university is perfect for people who are interested in computers like me. I got to meet many amazing individuals from different backgrounds and had one of the best college experiences I would ask for. Without making that important decision in my life, I wouldn’t be where I am today. I am happy that I challenged my ability because I know as long as I put the work in, nothing is impossible.

Flex_Tour

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?

  1. Step out of your comfort zone because that’s when you can discover your other potentials.
  2. When you have a goal and a strong mindset, you are more likely to achieve it.
  3. Find your support circles because they will play a crucial part in your future success.
  4. Be confident about yourself because each of us owns a unique skill set that others do not have.
  5. Improve your leadership skills. This skill is crucial regardless of your future career path. It will make you a more well-rounded person.
  6. Do things that you are passionate about or helpful to a community. Not only you will gain a new skill set, good fortunes always come to people who do good deeds 🙂

GoogleGame

Leave a Reply

