#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · STEM · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Saumya Rawat

Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained.”
– Marie Curie

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am currently a Junior at the School of Science and Engineering in Dallas, TX. Since my first JavaScript and AppInventor Workshops in 7th grade, I’ve decided to implement technology in all of projects and work. As one of the 26 girls out of a class size of 106, I hope to continue to break gender barriers and succeed in STEM. Currently, I am the captain of my school’s Computer Science Team and a avid member of the Robobusters First Robotics Competition Team 5057.
In addition to writing in over 10 programming languages, I also enjoy giving back to my community. For the last 5 years, I have coached kids with special needs to swim with the Coppell Special Olympics Team and interning at my local hospitals. These experiences have inspired me to help find solutions for those in need through technological innovations. This past summer, I worked towards that goal; I researched implantable bio-compatible neurotechnology at the Advanced Polymer Research Laboratory at the University of Texas at Dallas. Although I am only in the first few stages focusing on the chronic viability of these implantable intracortical probes, my project has won merit through the Siemens Competition as a regional finalist.
Furthermore, I was honored to be a
National Center of Women and Informational Technology 2017 National Award Winner for Aspirations in Computing.
Everything really is bigger in Texas, as it takes me almost 45 minutes to go to school.

What # would define your life journey?
#BeConfidentInYourself
Having confidence in all of my decisions has allowed me to reach my goals and drives me to achieve and give back my community through STEM.

Favorite website / app:

Instagram. I love connecting with people I meet and looking at innovative technology pictures.

IMG_5521 (1)

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Marie Curie has inspired me to pioneer a field as a women and make a lasting impact on humanity. Curie was able to create revolutionary findings and surpassed all gender barriers. I hope to follow in her path and use my knowledge to better the world and increase workplace equality.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In 7th grade, my parents enrolled me for a weekly Java camp, the first of many programs. On the first day, I expected to make many new friends; however, when I entered the room I realized I was the only girl. As a 13-year-old, I was nervous and initially wanted to leave, but my mom insisted that I at least try the class.
An hour later, I instantly knew that I wanted to pursue a career in the technology field and began looking for other opportunities to expand on my knowledge, and I was determined to continue coming to class even if no one talked to me. This determination has allowed me to grow within the field by venturing to many other languages and softwares. Now I work hard to inspire other girls to participate in computer science through STEM girl conferences and as captain of my school’s Computer Science Club. In the future, I hope to host similar programs to increase the influence computer science has on young women and to be a inspiration to many others.

Ideal Job:
STEM has greatly impacted my education for the last 5 years, and I plan to make keep Computer Science and technology a large part of my life. I hope to start my own biotechnology company to provide revolutionary products to various industries by creating life-saving applications. Furthermore, I would like to create my own initiative to encourage girls to participate in STEM.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be confident in everything you do and never turn away from a challenge. Also, be true to yourself and follow your dreams.

Leave a Reply

