#WomeninSTEM · Computer Science · inspiration

Women Who Reign: Akshaya Dinesh

“Now we’re in an age where technology is mandatory, and we wanted young girls to have this understanding and know how to build an app.” – Peta Clarke, Technical Lead at Black Girls Code
Akshaya is the organizer of an all-women hackathon at Spotify called ByteHacks. The event is June 24-25, 2017 at Spotify, NYC, and it’s open to high school and college women.

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hello! I am a high school junior from New Jersey and the Founder/CEO of a national nonprofit called Girls Make Apps that helps introduce young women to computer science.

Fun fact: I have attended ~28 hackathons and am absolutely obsessed with them!

20170407_090236

What # would define your life journey?
#neverstoptrying

Favorite website / app:
Facebook and Spotify

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mother. As a self-taught woman in information technology, she inspires me every day to ignore what others say and pursue my dreams. No matter what challenges her employers throw at her, she learns the relevant skills and overcomes them.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Love Yourself”  by Hailee Steinfeld

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In 10th grade, I wanted to join my school’s Robotics team. I approached the team’s programming captain, eager to apply my advanced Java skills to robots. He told me I did not have enough experience, and told me to join another team. Discouraged that I could not participate in something I was passionate about, I quit Robotics and created my own club at school: Technology Club.

20170407_102653

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is working at Google or Facebook as a Software Engineer. I want to be making the innovative tech that touches the lives of millions.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Never be afraid to try something new, even if you feel inexperienced or discouraged. Trust that you can do it, and you will. Always look for opportunities and seize them when you find them.

Leave a Reply

