#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Maitreyee Deshpande

“The hardest part of doing something you’re scared to do is taking the first step. Once you have your foot in the door, you can easily keep walking.” – Maitreyee Deshpande

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m an Information Systems and Computer Science major at Carnegie Mellon University. I’m from San Jose, CA, and I’ve lived there for a majority of my life. I love technology and all things computer science, but I also really enjoy music and fashion. I’ve been playing piano since the age of 4, and have been interested in fashion and makeup for as long as I can remember. One thing I miss the most about going to school in Pittsburgh, PA is the lack of avocados here! I miss the wonderful food in California, but I’m also enjoying this new city.

What # would define your life journey?
#speakupstandup

Favorite website / app:
I love social media, and my favorite apps are Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat. I enjoy reading news on CNN, and scouring Buzzfeed in my free time.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My aunt is and has been my biggest inspiration. She grew up in a small town in India, but is now currently a critical employee of a startup. From her, I have learned what hard work and a love for one’s job really means. Not only is she successful career-wise, but she is encouraging, kind, and generous (not to mention my fashion inspiration as well). Having her as a role model growing up has shaped who I am today, and my path for the future.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Growing up in the Silicon Valley, I’ve always been interested in technology. However, when I participated in tech-related clubs in middle school and high school, they were dominated by boys. I was maybe one out of three girls in the room, and hence I was hesitant and intimidated to speak up. Therefore, I was not aware of my full potential until I joined Girls Who Code during my junior year of high school. Girls Who Code not only empowered me to speak up and take charge in a male-dominated field, but it also inspired me to pursue a tech career. Because of the support I received at Girls Who Code, I was able to thrive and eventually, attend my dream school.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t be afraid to speak up for yourself and try new things. The hardest part of doing something you’re scared to do is taking the first step. Once you have your foot in the door, you can easily keep walking.

Leave a Reply

