#WomeninSTEM · inspiration · Science · STEM · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Golara Haghtalab

“What I dream of is an art of balance.” – Henri Matisse

Golara was featured in UVA Today: Class of 2017: Artist, Entrepreneur Finds New Life after Emigrating from Iran.

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Golara, and I graduated from University of Virginia with a dual major in chemistry and studio arts with concentration in painting. I’d like to introduce myself as a multi-disciplinary hybrid with an intense passion for science, art and business.

Fun fact about me is that I was born in Iran but I like to dance Argentine tango to Vivaldi’s four seasons!

FullSizeRender
What # would define your life journey?

#BeBold #BeInspired #BeAwesome #BeCreative #GetCreative #BeKind #BeHappy

Favorite website / app:
I check TechInsider, Times, CNN, Great Big Story, Big Think, American Chemical Society and Instagram pretty regularly. I also enjoy mingling with other scientists, entrepreneurs, and innovators who invent new apps and tech tools at all times.

FullSizeRender (3)

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I inspire myself! Most particularly myself in 10 years inspires my current self because she is always ahead of me in life, and I envision her as a happy, strong-willed, and mindful person.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I am a fan of many types of music. Mostly I listen to classics and smooth, modern Jazz. However, System of a Down also makes me feel strong .

FullSizeRender (1)

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I love great ideas because they always come with great challenges. One of my biggest ideas was immigrating to USA. Immigration and its consequences were my first main challenge and impacted my life in personal, social, and career directions. Although my favorite challenge was to embrace my desire to learn new things. For a while I knew so little about many things and was master of none. However, in past five years I continued learning about many of my favorite fields. These experiences made me a person who can understand many things and has the ability to think out of the box while facing an issue. Recently, every day is a nice challenge that unfolds in the morning, and by navigating my way through my day, little by little, I improve myself toward becoming a better version of myself.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is to own a business that solves a certain problem in inspiring, positive, and creative ways. It will also have the ability to merge my three strong interests: art, science, and business.

FullSizeRender (4)

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I would say, learn about who you are as a person, accept her, and embrace her. Everyone is our role model, and we can learn something from both nice and evil people around us, so meet people, learn the thing, improve yourself, and spread the joy.

Leave a Reply

