#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Maggie Veltri

Always remember you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, smarter than you think, & loved more than you know. – A. A. Milne

 

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a Tufts University and New England Conservatory of Music Dual Degree student. I am a triple major with one minor. As a freshman I walked onto the Tufts Sailing team. I am now the philanthropy chair for ATO of Massachusetts, a co-ed Greek life organization. I am also the Tufts Women in Computer Science Vice President and I am on the executive board for the Student Athlete Advisory Committee.

What # would define your life journey?
#growthmindset #embarrassmyselftothetop

Favorite website / app:
I am a big fan of Yahoo News Digest, Spotify, Snapchat (the New York Times and The Economist stories), Pianist HD: Piano +, Skyscanner, and Airbnb

MaggieSpringFling

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My parents constantly inspire me because they came from humble backgrounds and they had careers and then changed career paths and went back to school. This has taught me that I don’t have to have one idea of what or who I want to be. I may find that in 5 years I have no desire to work in tech and that is fine. My mother has also taught me the very important idea that you don’t get what you don’t ask for. Sometimes I think women especially work incredibly hard and expect to be rewarded for it because it should be obvious that they are deserving, but they don’t ask for the recognition. My mother has taught me that if I want something I should work incredibly hard for it and have the confidence to ask for what I believe I have earned. My father has reminded me that I only have to do better than I did yesterday. I cannot judge myself against others because that is an exhausting way to live. I can only measure my progress and hope for the best

Song that makes you want to dance:
This is hard because I am a musician. I would say “I’ll Be There For You” by the Rembrandts aka the “Friends” theme song.

Florence

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I find that writing code is not something that is natural to me. My data structures course was incredibly hard for me as a result. Instead of giving up, I spent 6 nights of the week in the computer science building writing out a plan, then pseudo code, then trying code. It quite honestly initially failed most of the time. I would then trace my code. When that did not work I would ask others in the room if they had encountered the same problem. Looking around, the room was almost always all female-identifying students and at most two male TAs. Once it hit midnight many people were out of the building, but for those of us who stayed, we became friends. We built a bond over our struggles and our triumphs. We discussed concepts and helped each other debug and think through the problems on a massive whiteboard. Data Structures was the hardest class for me because it tested my commitment to the discipline as well as my knowledge. In the end it was a great experience because I learned that as women we are strong. We have to work together because when one of us rises, we all rise. It also taught me valgrind which is an incredibly useful tool.

MaggieAustria

Ideal Job:
Like any child my dream job is constantly evolving. For some time I have wanted to work in tech and music in a music therapy space. I am also a huge fan of the Paramusical Ensemble by Professor Eduardo Miranda and would love to see his work expanded upon. I would love to contribute to that in the future or expand upon that idea to create affordable tech that could make the same experience possible in hospitals, nursing homes, and in special needs classrooms world wide.

MaggieDunes

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I hope to remind them that we do not all have an easy time with code in the beginning, however, we should recognize that when we say that we cannot do something we are not only undervaluing ourselves, we are lying to ourselves in a dangerous way. We may not be good at something in the beginning or even in the middle, the only difference between us being proficient at something and not is how much we are willing to be embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

