#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · Science · tech tools · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Carissa Lintao

“Power to him who power exerts” – Emerson

 

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m currently a senior pursuing a degree in Marketing, interning at App Partner, a mobile app development agency, and The Next Web! All while running a freelance business on the side. I write about tech, apps, marketing, and all that good stuff. Then on the side, I help indie app developers with their app content, UX, content, and marketing strategy. (See the recurring theme yet?)

My love for tech probably started once I discovered Youtube back in 2008. I was online day in and day out and got to watch some of the biggest Youtubers before they blew up (sorry to get extremely hipster on you). Being able to search for what you wanted to watch and then get thousands of results instantaneously was exhilarating. Not to mention some of the most talented creators and storytellers on the planet live on the platform.

From YouTube, I moved onto Twitter ’09 then Facebook ’10. And it all went downhill from there. I’ve managed to get my hands on everything from the first generation iPod Touch, VR at the 2016 Tribeca Film Festival, Snapchat Spectacles (after waiting 10 hours in the freezing New York cold and rain), PSP’s, drones, and more.

On the more personal side of things, I’m the oldest of four other ridiculous children, and love food, working out/sports (it’s as difficult to balance as it sounds), and musical theater.

A fun fact about me is that I’m a second degree brown belt in Isshinryu karate.

 

What # would define your life journey?
#hustle

Favorite website / app:
For someone who works with apps everyday, I rarely download new apps. But I really enjoy Podcasts, Two Dots, and VSCO Cam. Also Uber/Lyft, depending on which is cheaper, because I am a struggling intern and have a tendency of getting lost in the city.

Basically, I love any app with a clean UI that makes my life easier.

 

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Someone who inspires me is Gary Vaynerchuk. He was actually a huge part of why I switched to marketing. I remember watching one of his old keynotes and feeling like he gave me a kick in the head to go do something – even though I didn’t know what that something was.

His passion for the hustle is one of the things that still sticks with me years later. And if there’s one thing I took away, it had to be that you need to double down on what you’re good at and not focus on anything you suck at. That’s how all the “greats” got to where they did – Michael Jordan, Beyonce, Walt Disney – you name it.

 

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Love on Top” by the Queen 🐝 herself. Hands down.

IMG_5353

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I was actually a music education major before I started marketing. This situation definitely proved to be one of the most difficult, because I already dedicated eight years of my life to the guitar (middle school, high school and a year and a half of college) but I had a somewhat sudden, hard-hitting interest in digital marketing and tech.

I found myself stuck for about a year and contemplated basically everything you could think of – finances, happiness, opportunity, etc. I eventually had an epiphany and decided to take a leap of faith to pursue the world of tech/marketing.

(Kind of anticlimactic but things usually work themselves out in the end)

IMG_5766

Ideal Job:
I’ve thought about this question a lot, but I honestly don’t know what my ideal job would be as of right now. However, I do know that I would want to be somewhere where I’d be extremely happy. Working at a company like Disney or Google sounds cool too.


What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Know yourself and be yourself.You’re only alive for a certain period of time, don’t waste time on being someone you’re not or doing things you don’t like. It’s the most cliché and played out sayings of all time, but if you really are the “fullest” version of yourself, you can’t ask for anything more. Take advantage of what you are good at and kill it. 💪

Leave a Reply

