#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · education · inspiration · Science · STEM · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Maricely Ramírez-Hernández

“You can’t be too careful anymore
When all that is waiting for you
Won’t come any closer
You’ve got to reach out a little more”
-Careful by Paramore

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a senior chemical engineering undergrad at University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez with an interest in polymer and surface science. I’m supposed to graduate this December 2017 and will start my last internship next week!
A fact about me is that I used to be in the Puerto Rico National Tae Kwon Do team for about 3 years, so that was pretty cool! 😀

Favorite website / app:
Hulu and Netflix lol. But really, Mendeley, Science Direct and ResearchGate are great resources if you’re putting together a research paper or are curious about any subject. For out of classroom knowledge, Coursera is also a great resource!

NYU Poster

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My graduate mentor, Myrna Reyes, has also been an amazing friend and it always available to clarify any questions. I think it’s really cool that I have a Latino female mentor I can look up to as a researcher. She has taught me to question everything and understand fundamentals before applying.

On a more personal note, my parents are my biggest inspiration, they have always been there for me and help me bring things back into perspective when I’m having a meltdown. Last but not least, my favorite software engineer, my husband! He’s a tough-love kind of person who helps me get my sh*t together when I’m lazy or unmotivated. We’re **pardon the cheesiness** each other’s #1 fans 🙂

star 2013

Song that makes you want to dance:
No idea why, but “Seven Nation Army“- White Stripes

female scientistsChallenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
My biggest obstacle has been myself. Oftentimes I would get very shy and anxious and miss out on opportunities by not speaking up. This is something I’ve been working on along my college degree and it has turned out wonderfully. It has helped me validate my skills and identify where I want to go in life.

The first moment I got the courage to approach a professor about a possible research assistantship in my sophomore year he was very receptive about what my interests and goals were. Since then, my work with him has opened up a lot of opportunities to develop myself as a scientist and engineer and I have even started developing a new product with aims to help underdeveloped countries in multidisciplinary teams.

These experiences have allowed me to connect to a network of professionals I now consider my mentors and inspirations.

So the takeaway is, have faith in yourself, work hard to improve in areas you consider you need to improve in, immerse yourself in the things you love and DO NOT be afraid to ask for help when you need it.

rutgers reuIdeal Job:
My ideal job is somewhere where I can have direct impact in improving the quality of life communities by designing affordable products, whether it’s water systems, biodegradable products, biomedical products, durable and safe materials. A job where I can also mentor future generations of STEM professionals would be great, since there are still many problems to be solved.  

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Learn what your priorities are and organize yourself accordingly. I’ve learned this the hard way but I’m applying it after taking a seminar with a dear professor of mine that put things into perspective! Now I don’t feel as guilty if I’m spending time with my family, or dedicating time to take care of myself both physically and mentally!

silvernps

Leave a Reply

