#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · Science · STEM · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Brittney Vázquez

“Jack of all trades, master of none. But oft times better than master of none”

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a seventeen year old chemical engineering student and a past Puerto Rico FFA State President.
Fun Fact: I give the homeless people breakfast once a week at my town’s plaza.

What # would define your life journey?
#speakup #challengeyourself

Favorite website / app:
Duolingo and Khan Academy

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mother is my biggest inspiration, not just because she raised me but also because through her career as a former judo athlete she taught me to work hard for what you want and take every criticism as a challenge to do better.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Rise Up” by Andra Day

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
When I was in middle school, I had a fear of speaking. It impeded not only my growth as a student but also made it harder to communicate with my peers. My fear was overcome when my school’s principal signed me up for a FFA public speaking competition. Now, I have competed three times at the national level, representing my island in public speaking and motivating younger students to trust in themselves.

IMG_1494782279763

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
The biggest wall blocking your success is the one you have built. Always trust yourself and your abilities. Every time someone tells you that it is impossible to achieve something you want, consider it a challenge and prove them wrong.

Leave a Reply

