#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · Engineering · inspiration · Science · STEM · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Karelys Lopez Rivera

“Success is not easy and I think everyone should know that hard work and perseverance and being open to giving back are so much more powerful than stepping all over people to get to the top.” by Misty Copeland

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am 18-years-old, and I am studying Computer Science and Engineering in The University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez. I am a first generation student. I was intrigued with the field of technology with the  space program in elementary school. Ever since, my interest in science and engineering was sparked. I am an animal lover, and, for them, I look for cruelty-free products. I am obsessed with aerospace companies it’s my dream to work or have an internship with Space X or NASA.
A fun fact about me is that I did ballet for 4 years. I was doing STEM activities as well. I love both ballet and STEM and am dedicated to each one. My favorite movies are Star Wars and Star Trek. Again, I love space, haha! I love to read; it gives me ideas and keeps creativity running for when I need to put it into action with my programming skills and creating something just for fun or in a class.  

What # would define your life journey?
#isokayyoucomputerscientist #focus #tryagain #Succeedasbadasyouwanttobreathe

What motivates you during tough times?
Listening to motivational podcasts, reading about other people’s paths to success and meditating

Favorite website / app:
Github, Atom, Project Euler, Coursera, Code Academy and MIT opencourseware

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
There are two people who inspire me:

The first person is Margaret Hamilton the computer scientist. She is amazing, smart and her work history is amazing. She is the woman who created the code for the Apollo Space program. She is an inspiration for women like me who studies computer science. She made history being a female and working in a place where males were dominant. She took and made the impossible possible.

The second person who inspires me is a person like you and me; he’s not in a book but he sure is amazing. My boyfriend, Alexander Guzman has been an inspiration since I arrived to college. He has inspired me to believe in myself and to keep learning and working on my programming skills. He told me a famous quote that I would never forget: “When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.” by Eric Thomas. Because of him I’ve achieved so much in this freshman year of college and I am in track to complete my academic career at The University of Berkeley. He pushed me to believe in myself and my dreams, I went from dreaming great things to doing great things. He’s been a mentor to me since he also studies Computer Science. I owe him a lot of my success this year.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Shake it off” by Taylor Swift

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Going to college was hard because of the fact that my mom wanted me to be closer at home but I wanted to go to a far away college because it’s the best in my country. I seriously thought I wasn’t going to be able to go to college because of the financial sacrifices they would have to make, who was going to take care of my mom and other things that was making going to college impossible. I had to prove to my mom that what I wanted this more than anything in the world, I showed her my progress in programming and I reminded her of the times I went to a STEM activity and the sacrifices I did to go to them. Time went and I still saw her denial and I thought that I was going to repeat history again but she told me that my family was going to adjust financially and I was going to The University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez. That day showed me that I have to fight and be strong to achieve my goals and to never give up.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job will be a place creating useful tools for humanity and creating history throughout the process. It can be aerospace, cyber security, data science and biotechnology companies. What I want in my ideal job is to help.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
You can do so much more than you can think. Focus on your path and do not compare yourself to another person, instead compare your past progress to the present and see what you can do better. Comparing your success to others will not improve your own success. Believe in yourself because you can do whatever you put your mind to.

Leave a Reply

