#WomeninTech · inspiration · K-12 Influencers · Mindset · school · tech tools · tech tools for life · Technology · women who reign

K-12 Influencers: Jacie Maslyk

“The role of a creative leader is not to have all the ideas. It’s to create a culture where everyone can have ideas and feel valued.” Sir Ken Robinson

~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’ve been in education for 20 years as a teacher, principal, and assistant superintendent. I’m passionate about school leadership, STEAM, and literacy. I’m also the author of STEAM Makers: Fostering Creativity and Innovation in the Elementary Classroom. My website www.steam-Makers.com has lots of resources for educators. I also blog at Jacie.maslyk@blogspot.com

STEAM Makers

Favorite website / app:
I love Common Sense Education. Great resource for all things tech!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mom is my inspiration. As a single mother she taught me to be independent and driven. She also instilled the love of reading in me. She’s the reason why I work hard to be successful.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Not sure if there’s a particular event, but the divorce of my parents probably defined my path. My mom showed me that as a woman you can be successful and self-sufficient. In turn, I’ve pursued every educational opportunity possible, earning my doctorate and becoming a published author. Without her as a role model, I don’t think I would’ve been as driven.

Describe what it means for you to be a K-12 Influencer in STEM.
Connected learning is critical in education right now. There are so many meaningful ways the STEAM subjects can be integrated into the curriculum. When STEAM content intersects with hands-on Maker Education, powerful learning happens. As an early implementer of STEAM learning spaces, I believe I am an influencer. I have created an educational platform through my website, book, and other publications to call attention to this amazing shift in education while helping other educators to add STEAM and Making into their practices.

What knowledge would you impart to other K-12 Influencers in STEM?
The importance of the 4Cs: creativity, collaboration, critical thinking, and communication. I’d also stress the importance of being a connected educator and building a network of educational peers that help you to reflect and push your thinking.  

Leave a Reply

