#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · Engineering · inspiration · STEM · tech tools · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Claire Smith

“If you can find something you’re really passionate about, jump on that. If you’re passionate about something and you bring your talent, you’ll be unstoppable.” – Megan Smith, CTO of the United States

 

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a recent high school graduate aspiring to break the gender gap for females in Science and Tech. I won the 2017 NCWIT AIC Maryland Competition. Just 2 years ago I participated in the Girls Who Code summer Immersion program and now know 7 computer languages.
I am teaching a middle and high school girl 3d printing class to my home school community this September. I am a member of the TenXList ,The most talented Women in Science and Tech in the world.
Fun fact about me… I am an 18-year-old triplet. I am the only girl 🙂

What # would define your life journey?
#CatsNCode

Favorite website / app:
I love Facebook, Mighty Girl, Instagram, Snapchat

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I would say both my mom and dad. They have no experience in CS and still they help me with any problems I have and are my biggest supporters!

Song that makes you want to dance:
Walk the Moon “Shut Up and Dance!”

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
This is a challenge that I faced in my life: https://technical.ly/baltimore/2017/08/02/claire-smith-teen-fashion-coding-girls-who-code/

** Claire is selected to exhibit at the World Maker Faire in New York. She is seeking sponsors to help make this dream a reality. Click here for information about how to donate.

18446786_10210897743853164_2254692288102204337_n

What project have you completed?
My viral prom dress! Check out these links:
Mashable
AdaFruit
Technically Baltimore

18622387_1134015633411732_1229185908200934066_n

Ideal Job:
I would like to become an engineer. Not sure what type yet but I love making things and fixing things.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
We can do whatever we put our minds too! Girls, we are just as good as guys, if not better, at tech.

18423018_1127762727370356_8901830446375809029_o


Learn more about Claire:

Twitter: @MsClaire99 Facebook: MsClaire99 Instagram: Ms_.Claire Snapchat: MsClaire99

Click here for information about how to help Claire fund her trip to World Maker Faire in New York.
Leave a Reply

