#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · STEM · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Martha Czernuszenko

“We don’t go to the future, we create it”

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Imagine a Venn diagram with Business and Technology, the part that intersects is where you can find me! My name is Martha Czernuszenko and I am currently double majoring in Management Information Systems and Business Honors at the University of Texas (Hook em!!).

This past summer, I returned to KodeWithKlossy as a teacher assistant in Austin (I did the scholarship program in New York in 2016) and interned in advisory and information technology services at Deloitte. I really enjoy learning how technology can advance and improve businesses and how businesses can invest in technology.

While I am not doing a case competition, adventuring around Austin, or coding, I really enjoy to travel! Fun Fact: I have been to a different country/state/city every month since December 2016!

FullSizeRender (2)
Hiked to the tallest peak in Texas (Guadalupe Mountains)

What # would define your life journey?
#BusyBee

Favorite website / app:
Facebook, Instagram, GroupMe, Hopper, WeChat, Virtual Reality!!

FullSizeRender (5)
Winning first place at the women’s case competition and advancing to nationals!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
If I could be half of the woman my maternal grandmother and paternal grandmother were, I would be honored. The two most important lessons I have learned from them are:
1) Perseverance, keep your chin up. Both of my grandmothers have experienced World War II, a communist regime, and illness. Their mindset inspires me to be strong no matter how difficult the challenge may be.
2) Your voice is valued, megaphone it. Through all of this, both of my grandmothers have stayed true to their values and haven’t lost them.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“This Girl is on Fire” by Alicia Keys

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One of the largest challenges I have faced was applying to an honors program during my elementary and middle school years and getting rejected every time. I had taken the exam 7 years in a row and thought that I could never be successful in life because I wasn’t in this program. Throughout high school, I began to find more opportunities to explore bioinformatics, politics, and business. Through this experience, I learned that labels fluctuate. I didn’t need to associate myself with a brand in order to be successful.

FullSizeRender (1)
Visiting Facebook on a company field trip with McCombs Diversity Council

Ideal Job:
I would love to have a career in something that is challenging, allows for creativity, encourages risks, and is team oriented.
Some fields I am considering are technology consulting, entrepreneurship, or working on the business aspect of a technology company.

FullSizeRender
Exploring corporate offices after work in Houston

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Sit in the middle seat at the table and in the front of the room. Never give up your seat to anyone, you deserve to be there.
Stop waiting for the right moment, the right moment is now.


Learn more about Martha:
Facebook: Martha Czernuszenko, Insta: @strawberrytallcake823, Twitter: @czmartha , LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/martha-czernuszenko-mis/

FullSizeRender (4)

Leave a Reply

