#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Gloria Li

Aim high, and again, never give up if you want to REIGN your life.” – Gloria Li

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi, I’m Gloria Li, a 2017 graduate of New York University, a young woman passionate about both Technology and Finance (and their integration – FinTech), and a lover of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream!

What # would define your life journey?
#beadventurous

Favorite website / app:
Since I’m currently at Google, I feel like I should say it’s Google… but seriously, Google Photos, Google Assistant, and Google.org are all awesome!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Haven’t been lucky enough to meet him (yet), but Elon Musk (or at least the way he’s portrayed by Ashlee Vance) truly inspires me. One of my favorite Musk quotes is, “My proceeds from PayPal were $180M. I put $100M in SpaceX, $70M in Tesla, and $10M in Solar City. I had to borrow money for rent.”

Song that makes you want to dance:
Summer

Gloria_Photo1

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I must have received hundreds of rejections before ultimately working at Bank of America, J.P. Morgan, Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs, and the White House as an undergraduate. Sometimes, these rejections wouldn’t even be formal rejections, but soft rejections – professionals wouldn’t respond to my requests for coffee chats or even invite me for a phone interview. A particularly hard rejection, though, consisted of a series of on-site interviews where I met 14 professionals back-to-back in a single day and was subsequently told that I would not be hired. In the face of rejection, never give up! Things always have a way of working out better than expected.

Ideal Job:
Wow, what a loaded question… my answer to this has changed many times over time, but at the moment the pipe dream is to someday return to the NYSE to ring the opening bell for a company that I’m taking public.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Aim high, and again, never give up if you want to REIGN your life.  

Leave a Reply

