#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Beriwan Ravandi

“Keeping your identity rooted in hard work rather than shortcomings makes all the difference in achieving your dreams.” – Beriwan Ravandi

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a junior computer science and statistics student at the University of British Columbia. A fun fact about me is that I used to be extremely scared of heights until I went skydiving! I don’t think I’ll ever get over my fear of spiders though.

Favorite website / app:
Penzu to keep track of my thoughts, Mint to manage my finances, and Habits to create and track good habits.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My aunt is one of my biggest inspirations. She moved to Iraq from a small town in Iran when she was nineteen to start her political career. She has taught me what it really means to sacrifice for success, but also what you shouldn’t let go of.

Beriwan Salamat-Ravandi 2

Song that makes you want to dance:
Kendrick Lamar’s “King Kunta”

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
It was intimidating to be surrounded by so many bright people during my first year of university, as I struggled to figure out what I wanted to study. I wanted to find a major that I was passionate about but did not think computer science was it until I reluctantly tried it out. I finally had found something I genuinely loved but couldn’t stop second guessing my intelligence and capabilities. I still struggle with this now sometimes but I’m learning to go easy on myself and get more comfortable with making mistakes.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is where my responsibilities and creative power are compelling and impactful. I want to create products that bring about global change, particularly in underdeveloped countries.

Beriwan Salamat-Ravandi 1

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Keeping your identity rooted in hard work rather than shortcomings makes all the difference in achieving your dreams. Also, stop taking life so seriously because the world is absurd.  


Learn more about Beriwan! Follow her on Twitter, subscribe to her blog, and check out her website: beriwanravandi.me.

Leave a Reply

