#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · Computer Science · Engineering · inspiration · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Harshita Kaushal

“Todo me parece bonito” – Jarabe de Palo.
It means everything is (or quite literally, appears) beautiful to me. Shoutout to Senor Ospina.

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Salutations! My name is Harshita Kaushal, and I am a rising sophomore studying Computer Engineering at UC Davis. I’ve lived in the Bay Area for the majority of my life. I interned with Intel this past summer on the Analytics and AI team, and I’m currently working with Google Cloud. I love hiking/ adventuring the outdoors, playing (and following) basketball, and reading. I’m also currently trying to learn the guitar and do more yoga!

Fun fact – my name actually means happiness in its Sanskrit roots.

IMG_0323

What # would define your life journey?
#justkeepswimming

Favorite website / app:
I love Medium because it gives me a chance to read about cognitive science and psychology, two things I’m really intrigued by. Reading a lot of these articles have contributed a lot to my self growth and mental development.

I really like Twitter since it emphasizes what’s happening in the now — there is a lot of social good that the platform achieves because of how instantly news spreads through it. Shoutout to all of @TwitterU — they are the best supporters and people.

And of course, Tumblr for the laughs.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mother is my biggest inspiration. She has overcome so many challenges, but she has really gone through these hardships with grace.

When we immigrated here, she had to redo all the dental certifications and take the exams, and she did this while trying to become accustomed to a brand new country and culture – where we had no other family and knew 3 other people. She did all this while raising me and her driving force in life is “where there is a will, there is a way”. For a while, this annoyed me because I thought it was a typical “mom” thing to say, but I slowly grew to love the phrase and strive to live by it now.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“I Gotta Feeling” – BlackEyed Peas

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A few years ago, I was overly stressed out and anxious all the time , and this contributed to an overall insecurity. It was super unhealthy actually, because I wasn’t taking care of myself and basically lost 15 pounds. After I discovered this through one of my yearly physicals, I took from it and was like “Yo, I gotta do something with myself and help myself”. I knew I enjoyed volunteering with people and I went with something I’d wanted to do since my freshman year, which was to found the UNICEF club at my school. It took a lot of time, energy, and occasional tears, but it all worked out and the club still is going strong at my high school today! As cliche as it sounds, helping others helped me. It was a really fulfilling experience and I was able to find the inner leader within me.

IMG_0272

Ideal Job:
I would really like to (eventually) get into product management. As someone is interested in business and tech and enjoys working with people, being an associate PM would be ideal. Or, I would love to be a philanthropic engineer – I recently met one from Palantir who works with the National Organization of Missing and Exploited Children.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I would say that you should be confident in yourself and not let anyone else tell you that you are any less than what you are. Imposter Syndrome is real in the workplace for women, and sometimes, you may feel out of place. Don’t feel this way, because you got this!!

Leave a Reply

